banner banner

FINAL REMINDER – Nominations for Election of Benchers



This message is provided to all members respecting the election of Benchers of the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador. The election results will be announced at the Law Society Annual General Meeting on June 7, 2019.

Completed nomination papers in Form 4.01A (attached) must be filed with the Executive Director at the Law Society offices no later than 5:00 pm, Monday April 8, 2019.

Under s. 11 of the Law Society Act, 1999, to be eligible for nomination to Benchers a member must be in good standing with the Law Society.

When considering nominations and election, we ask that you reflect upon the following key attributes of Benchers that contribute to effective decision making:

  1. The ability to think strategically and analytically and to effectively communicate thoughts and the reasons for them;
  2. Possession of earned respect of key stakeholder group members, including, but not limited to, the public and the members;
  3. The ability to work well with others as a member of a collaborative group with group decision-making authority and an understanding of the duty to act with due care, diligence and skill, honestly, in good faith and in the best interests of the Law Society;
  4. Demonstrated understanding of the differences between “oversight” and “supervision”;
  5. Earned reputation for emotional maturity, personal integrity, and honesty; and
  6. A demonstrated familiarity with the body of knowledge related to both the Law Society’s mandate, governing legislation, policies and procedure.

This year, there are 5 vacancies to be filled. The following will be elected:

  • Two (2) members of the Society in good standing and practising and resident in the Eastern District, two (2) members of the Society in good standing and practising and resident in the Central District and, one (1) member of the Society in good standing and practising and resident in the Western District.

The elective Benchers whose terms expire in June, 2019, but are eligible to seek re-election are:

Eastern District
Ian Patey
Rodney Zdebiak

Central District
Renee Appleby
Rebecca Redmond MacLean

Western District
Trevor Stagg

The remaining Elective Benchers are:

Eastern District
Donald Anthony
Gladys Dunne
Joan Dawson
John Hogan
Valerie Hynes
Ann Martin
Leanne O’Leary
Suzanne Orsborn
Scott Worsfold
Douglas Wright

Western District
Jamie Merrigan, QC

Labrador District
Adrienne Edmunds