banner banner

Walter Owen Book Prize – Legal Research

The Walter Owen Book Prize, awarded by the Canadian Foundation for Legal Research, recognizes exceptional legal research and writing that contribute significantly to Canadian legal literature.

The Prize, now $30,000.00, was created in 1988 in celebration of the life of Walter Owen, Q.C., P.C., prominent member of Law Society of British Columbia, former Lieutenant Governor of that province, past President of Canadian Bar Association and founding President of what is now Canadian Foundation For Legal Research.


  • A book, substantial in nature, which is an entirely new work (or a previous title’s complete revision), assessed by the Prize Jury to contribute to current Canadian legal literature by enhancing the quality of legal research in Canada and being highly valued by law practitioners, academics and the judiciary
  • The book must have been published in the two-year period (2020 and 2021) preceding the year when the Prize is awarded
  • The Prize is awarded in alternating years for works written in English (odd-numbered years) and French (even-numbered years)
  • Co-authors of submissions are recognized as nominees

Submission of Works for the 2022 French Language Prize

  • Deadline for submissions is 15 May 2022
  • Submissions must comprise one copy of a book accompanied by a statement of 200 words or less explaining how the book meets the Prize eligibility requirements. (At conclusion of the competition, the books will not be returned to individuals or publishing companies that submitted them)
  • Submissions must be made with consent of the author or co-authors

Submissions must be sent to the attention of the Jury Chair:

Me Martine Valois, Ad.E.
Professeure agrégée / Associate Professor
Faculté de droit / Faculty of Law
Université de Montréal
Chercheure, CDACI
142 Thibodeau
Sutton, QC J0E 2K0