banner banner

Three Chief Justices: Richard Routh, Jonathan Ogden & Thomas Tremlett, volume I Edited by Christopher Curran (2021)



This volume transcribes the decisions of the Supreme Court of Newfoundland for the period 1798-1803 from the Court’s Minute Books, and contains all the decisions of Chief Justice Richard Routh, Chief Justice Jonathan Ogden, and the decisions of (Chief) Surrogate Judge Thomas Tremlett.

Volume I also contains a representative sampling of memoranda and correspondence between Chief Justice Tremlett and Governor Gambier, as well as colonial letterbook correspondence between Governor Waldegrave and the Duke of Portland, which throw light on the administration of justice on the island during these formative years.

Additional information

Weight .885 kg
Dimensions 22 × 18 × 3 cm