banner banner

Appointment of President and Commissioners: Law Commission of Canada

For Information

The Government of Canada has announced the appointment of Shauna Van Praagh as President of the Law Commission of Canada, and Sarah Elgazzar and Aidan Johnson as Commissioners, effective June 6, 2023.

Developing a program of studies will be among the first orders of business.

The Law Commission of Canada Act requires that the Commission establish an Advisory Council to assist the Commission in its work; more information can be found on the Commission’s website.

Membership of the Advisory Council is not restricted to members of the legal community. It should be broadly representative of the socio-economic and cultural diversity of Canada, and represent various disciplines and reflect knowledge of the common law and civil law systems.

The Council’s role is to advise the Commission on its strategic directions and long-term program of studies and on the review of the Commission’s performance and may advise the Commission on any other matters relating to the purpose of the Commission.

Web: Law Commission of Canada
Twitter: @LawCommCan

Nomination de la présidente et des commissaires : Commission du droit du Canada

Pour information

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la nomination de Shauna Van Praagh à titre de présidente de la Commission du droit du Canada, ainsi que Sarah Elgazzar et Aidan Johnson à titre de commissaires. Ces nominations entreront en vigueur le 6 juin 2023.

L’élaboration d’un programme d’études sera l’un des premiers points à l’ordre du jour.

La Loi sur la Commission du droit du Canada exige que la Commission établisse un conseil consultatif pour l’aider dans son travail ; de plus amples informations sont disponibles sur le site Web de la Commission.

Web : Commission du droit du Canada
Twitter :  @CommDroitCan
Courriel :