banner banner

Minister Hogan Announces Queen’s Counsel Appointments

The Honourable John Hogan, QC, Minister of Justice and Public Safety and Attorney General, is pleased to announce the province’s newest appointments to the Queen’s Counsel by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

The honourary title of Queen’s Counsel recognizes senior lawyers for exceptional merit and contribution to the legal profession. These lawyers have served a minimum of 10 years as a member of the bar, have gained the respect of the legal community and are in good standing with the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Appointments are made after consultation with the Legal Appointments Board as outlined in the Queen’s Counsel Act.

Those appointed to Queen’s Counsel are Kenneth J. Brothers, Denis Mahoney, Beth McGrath, Gary P. Mooney and Stacey O’Dea. Biographies of each appointee can be found [here].