banner banner

Reminder: Honours and Awards Committee

The Honours and Awards Committee is seeking submissions for the following:

Degree of Doctor of Laws
Awarded to persons who have had a distinguished career in the law, are of unimpeachable good character and have a reputation for high professional integrity and honesty. The recipient should also have significant accomplishments in their professional career, significant volunteer contributions or significant contributions to the betterment of the law or improvement of the justice system.

Gordon M. Stirling Distinguished Service Award
Open to members and former members who have made a significant contribution to the Law Society, legal profession or administration of justice and to the public/community.

Jean Bruneau, OC, Certificate of Merit
Open to lay persons who have made a substantial contribution to the Law Society through years of service on Benchers or in some other capacity, or to the legal profession or administration of justice.

The Kenneth W. Jerrett Award
The Kenneth W. Jerrett Award recognizes members of the profession whose tenacity and character are an inspiration to others.  The award is granted to lawyers who make exceptional contributions to the profession and who demonstrate commitment to community service within the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Early Career Achievement Award
The Early Career Achievement Award recognizes an early career lawyer who has demonstrated excellence in their practice and dedication to the profession.

Further descriptions and requirements for each of these Honours can be found here.

Please forward the names of any nominees, and any other required documentation, on or before 12 March, 2021, to the Chair of the Honours and Awards Committee, Linda Harnett at