The SS Daisy Legal History Committee is a committee of the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador whose mandate is the preservation of Newfoundland and Labrador’s legal heritage, including the history of law, the courts, the lawyers and the Law Society. The name of the committee is taken from the government boat SS Daisy that carried lawyers, judges, sheriffs and clerks to the courts in smaller communities in pre-1949 Newfoundland.
The SS Daisy Legal History Committee works to date include taping and transcribing oral histories of senior members of the Bench and Bar, preserving the Barrister’s Roll which dates from 1826, and publishing the last volume of the Newfoundland Law Reports.
Showing 5–8 of 20 results
When Sir Robert Bond addressed Newfoundland’s House of Assembly in April 1904 to announce that, as part of the diplomatic arrangements signed between the United Kingdom and France, the French Shore Question had been resolved, he assured his listeners that this issue had long been a thorny cause of irritation…so opens Olaf U. Janzen’s contribution to this collection of essays in celebration of the official opening of the Corner Brook Consolidated Courthouse on 3 May, 2010. Contributing authors include: Christopher English, Michael Wilkshire, James K. Hiller, Christopher Curran and Melvin Baker, and Chief Justice Clyde K. Wells. B & W and full colour illustrations throughout.Add to cart
This new printing of D.W. Prowse’s 1877 Manual for Magistrates makes available to the Bar and to the public one of the ‘classics’ of Newfoundland’s 19th century legal literature. The reprint is based on Sir James Spearman Winter’s (# 52 on the Roll of the Law Society) copy of the original, of which only 100 were ever printed. The original is now extremely rare. The book is accompanied by an introductory essay by the editors and by an array of related photographic illustrations from the period. This printing is a limited print run.Add to cart
In June 2015, the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, in conjunction with the National Judicial Institute and the SS Daisy Legal History Committee of the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador, held a symposium to mark the 400th anniversary of the holding by Sir Richard Whitbourne of a court of Vice Admiralty in Newfoundland. The holding of the court at Trinity on June 4, 1615, which was repeated in other communities along the eastern coast of the island during the summer of 1615, is reputed to have been the first such formal judicial proceeding held under the umbrella of English admiralty law to that time in North America. This publication contains the edited versions of most of the papers and presentations made on the first day of the symposium with its focus on the province’s legal history, plus some additional historical material. Contributing authors include: Dr. Melvin Baker, Dr. Jerry Bannister, Hon. David M. Brown, Hon Justice Thomas A. Cromwell, Christopher P. Curran Q.C., David C. Day Q.C., Dr. Peter E. Pope, Dr. Philip Girard, Hon, J. Derek Green, Professor Emeritus W. Gordon Handcock, Hon. Judge John L. Joy, Professor Emeritus John McLaren and Dr. Lynne Phillips. B & W and full colour illustrations, a timeline of milestone events in the history of English Law and Judicature in Newfoundland and Labrador and a select bibliography supplement the text.Add to cart
Though tied to the history of the island portion of the Province, Labrador from earliest times had its own unique legal traditions. This is hardly surprising when we recall that the law at once reflects and helps shape the society out of which it springs. From the outset, the administration of justice in Labrador had to respond to unique challenges of a mixture of cultures and languages, an immense geography and a physical separation from the island part of the colony. This was as true for Judge Paterson on his arrival in Indian Harbour, Labrador, in 1826 as it is today. Illustrations throughout.Add to cart